Part two of my shelfie set of posts. To begin with, like in mt last post, I’ll start with the little bits in front. First is a massage turtle which I’ve had for years and years, bought it in Spain. Next is the rubber pilot duck which for the life of me I can’t remember where it came from, along with the toy Sherman tank. Next is a lead giant model that’s about twenty years older than I am, a friend repainted him for me a few years ago. The little egg thing with legs is a sentry droid thing from the game Portal. And the last piece is a Lego Star Wars artillery piece that I got for my sixteenth birthday. Like I said in my last post Lego is important to me.

So the books! First is a hardback copy of Lord of the Rings, yes all three novels in one. Which I bought last year for £10, its so delicate that I’ve only opened it a handful of times. And only to ever look at the amazing fold out maps among the pages.

Its All About Treo by Dave Heyhoe is a brilliant story of one man and his dog in Taliban Country, Afghanistan. A beautiful relationship between a soldier and his four legged comrade. A truly brilliant book.

The next six books are by Mark Lawrence one the best, funniest grimdark writers out there. His books are Prince of Thorns, King of Thorns, Emperor of Thorns (his first trilogy), Prince of Fools, Liars Key and the Wheel of Osheim (I have two copies, the one on this shelf is a signed copy). I will be doing individual reviews of each of these books in the future.

The next two books are A Walk in the Woods and Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson. A Walk in the Woods is about Bryson and his friend Stephen Katz in their slightly fool hardy attempt to walk the Appalachian Trail, two thousand miles up the East Coast of America. Notes from a Small Island is the documentation of Brysons journey from the South of Great Britain to the very Northern tip of the British mainland. A funny and well researched book that will have Britons sniggering at the brilliance of Brysons analysis powers in respect to British life.

After Brysons books are Oliver Bowdens retelling of Assassin Creed 2 and Brotherhood in book form. I read these years ago and remember very little except that I enjoyed them greatly.

The Faithful and the Fallen by John Gwynne is one of the best fantasy series out there, and I know I say that a lot, so I’ll say that his work is in my top ten. A massive cast of diverse characters, who at first seem to fulfill the fantasy stereotypes prevalent in third rate fantasy. But as the books go on you become attached to the characters and the world. Becoming truly emotionally involved with Gwynnes work. (Once again I’ll be doing full reviews of each book later). ALSO! My copy of Wrath is signed!

Next along is Time and Time Again by Ben Elton which I have done a review of here: https://mightbemadsff.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/review-time-and-time-again/

