It’s been a week since my last post, I apologise. Between my laptop being turned on then turning itself off again and my birthday on the fifth, its been a tad hectic. Having spent Thursday through to Sunday in a state of drunkenness, monday in a biblically bad  hangover, and today rushing around because of college I’m now happy to be blogging again.

Guns of the Dawn by Adrian Tchaikovsky

adrian_tchaikovsky_guns-of_dawn_tor_books_cover

A book that I covered in my Christmas wish list I finally got for my birthday. I started reading it almost immediately. Now, 511 pages in, its one of the best standalone novels I’ve read in a long time. The sense of place that the novel carries is unparalleled. At no point are there any info dumps, the setting is so familiar to anyone who has grown up in Western Europe that it could practically be taken straight from a history book. I will definitely be gushing about this in a post when I finish it.

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen

born-to-run

Another that I covered in my Christmas wish list. I’ve read plenty of interviews from the man himself on his writing process for this book. How finding his voice for writing was far harder than finding his voice for song writing. I look forward to learning about a man I adore from his own perspective.

Pompeii by Mary Beard

pompeii

I’m a massive fan of the Romans. I’ve spent countless hours watching documentaries and reading books on them. Evidently my parents were paying attention when they gave me this. Double present in this book though was an inscription where my mum had written ‘You had better read this before we go in March’. I am ecstatic. I intend to eat my own body weight in gelato and hopefully not burning my pasty white Irish skin. Due to my parents booking this these three books were my only gifts, I’m not complaining though.

Sam

